Laundry Meditation

I try my best, but I’m not perfect.  It is easy to see, most days, just by taking a look at my laundry baskets.  It’s typical that I blow off doing laundry for any other possible activity and this is evident by the mountain range of laundry that often spreads across my bedroom.

Laundry is my nemesis.  It’s always there, lurking in the corner, waiting to steal my free time with the boring waiting, trip for quarters, tedious folding.  I just hate it.  It’s not difficult!  However, I would rather be doing 1,000 other things.  If I’m being completely honest about how much I procrastinate when it comes to laundry, there have been occasions when I buy new underwear so that I don’t have to do it.  I realized that I did laundry once during the month of January and once in February this year.  Fortunately, I have enough clothes to pull it off.

In a meditation class I took a couple of years ago, we were taught to try putting what we were learning into practice in real life.  Being present and content in the moment, no matter what we are doing.  I have actually learned to enjoy doing dishes in this way, as I feel the soothing warm water on my hands and the satisfaction of the cleaned dishes and cleared countertop.  Today, I put this contentment into practice while doing my laundry.  I have quite an imagination, so I tried to make doing my laundry a blissful experience this Sunday (not so fun-day).

Stuffing the dirty laundry into the washer was like filling up with an inhale, and pulling the clothes out of the dryer, a relieving exhale.  Dumping the clean clothes onto the bed, I felt comforted and warmed.  Piece by piece, my life came back into order as I folded each shirt, sweater, jeans, yoga pants and socks.  Mind over matter.  No more mountain range.  For now.

4 thoughts on “Laundry Meditation

  1. We should trade – dishes are like torture to me, whereas I find the routine of laundry soothing! Love how you describe the “inhale” of stuffing dirty laundry into the washer – just don’t inhale too deeply :)!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. If nothing else, you can celebrate not having to do it again until April! You may have inspired me to go buy more underwear. (I love how you labeled this a first world problem on TWT…ain’t that the truth!)

    Like

  3. I enjoyed the line “piece by piece” and couldn’t help but think of the way you are conquering dishes and laundry “peace by peace” through meditation. This idea of being present has been threaded through so many slices and seems to be the writers’ work that many of us are conquering ourselves. Thanks for sharing and helping me to make the connection.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. It is funny how we all feel about different chores. I would trade cooking and dishes for laundry in a heartbeat … I love the “order” of folded things. Though, I know, this order is brief. Needs re-doing every week. But my oh my dishes are every day! Whine!! I need to practice that mindfulness approach.

    Like

Leave a Reply

